🚚 Free delivery on orders over $99, or try 'Click & Collect' for stocked items!

Strange New World: How Thinkers and Activists Redefined Identity and Sparked the Sexual Revolution

Carl R Trueman

Paperback 2022-03-22

Publisher Description

:From Philosophy to Technology, Tracing the Origin of Identity Politics

How did the world arrive at its current, disorienting state of identity politics, and how should the church respond? Historian Carl R. Trueman shows how influences ranging from traditional institutions to technology and pornography moved modern culture toward an era of "expressive individualism." Investigating philosophies from the Romantics, Nietzsche, Marx, Wilde, Freud, and the New Left, he outlines the history of Western thought to the distinctly sexual direction of present-day identity politics, providing readers with a clearer understanding of the modern implications of these ideas on religion, free speech, and issues related to personal identity. For fans of Trueman's The Rise and Triumph of the Modern Self, this new book offers a more concise presentation and application of some of the most critical topics of our day.

Read more

$18.74$24.99Save $6.25 (25%)

Publisher Description

:From Philosophy to Technology, Tracing the Origin of Identity Politics

How did the world arrive at its current, disorienting state of identity politics, and how should the church respond? Historian Carl R. Trueman shows how influences ranging from traditional institutions to technology and pornography moved modern culture toward an era of "expressive individualism." Investigating philosophies from the Romantics, Nietzsche, Marx, Wilde, Freud, and the New Left, he outlines the history of Western thought to the distinctly sexual direction of present-day identity politics, providing readers with a clearer understanding of the modern implications of these ideas on religion, free speech, and issues related to personal identity. For fans of Trueman's The Rise and Triumph of the Modern Self, this new book offers a more concise presentation and application of some of the most critical topics of our day.

Koorong Code595303
ISBN1433579308
EAN9781433579301
Pages208
DepartmentAcademic
CategoryPhilosophy
PublisherCrossway
Publication DateMar 2022
Dimensions13 x 139 x 215mm
Weight0.250kg
Featured in catalogues